The Snowpocalypse Strikes

Learning has occurred!

Normally snow in Boise is no big deal.  It’s rare to even shovel, because the couple of inches we may get never stick around longer then a week.  What does Burt Gummer say?

Natural Disasters and Preparedness | Crossroads: The Up From the ...

So we started to get snow, and it didn’t thaw and the snow didn’t stop.  14″ later we’re due for a week of rain and some thawing and refreezing.  As part of this there are prognostications of power outages and flooding.

Up until now, what went right?

  • I’ve had all my neighbors contact information prior.  I know who folks are, and folks know me going into this.
  • Fitness levels are good.  I’ve shoveled not just my drive and sidewalks, but more then a few others.  You can’t just sit by and watch a 60 year old man try to clear his walkway.  The same goes with pushing cars.
  • Provisions are good.  We’re good to not go anywhere.  That being said, we’ve capitalized on windows of good weather to go stock up (mostly beer.)

What can be better?

  • All that house gear that I never got because it never gets that cold…  It’s on the docket now.  (See the Gummer quote above.)  Silcock and vent plugs.  A good quality snow shovel.  My current plastic shovel is doing great work – but should it break I would be in the hurt locker.  Sure I could borrow a neighbors, but two is one and one is none and all that.
  • Clothing.  I am two minutes away from a hot shower an shelter – and that affords me to be sloppy with my clothing.  The gear goal here is to be outside, all day through work and rest cycles and be comfortable in 0* weather + rain.
  • Vehicles.  Our little commuter car is a no go at the moment.  The truck is only an option once everything gets packed down – and only then because of clearance.  AWD wasn’t even on the radar (I’ll never need it!) .  I got a tow strap and come-along, but didn’t get chains.  The wife is up next for a new vehicle and she’s getting an AWD, with chains and all the foul weather fixins.  The current truck will finish getting geared up.
  • A Generator and grid isolation switch.  A generator has been on the radar for a while.  If it saves the freezer once it’s paid for itself.  Current concerns regarding power outages has the wife looking at generators now too – this makes it a much easier sell.
  • Roofing and gutters.  Too easy not to clean them in the fall.  I’m not sure how much grief this is going to cause as things thaw – but we’ll see!

Actions for next time?

  • Clear snow all around the house, and keep it up.  Think two moves ahead.  A friend wasn’t keeping up with their snow.  Then the news does the thinking on our behalf and flooding is suddenly a concern.  Now it’s time to have a snowclearing and sandbagging party.  Live and learn, I’m betting this mistake won’t be made again.
  • Stock more beer.
  • Stretch and roll after shoveling.
Get in on the discussion...

